Alfred Brendel - Liszt: Fantasia And Fugue On Bach



Availability: In stock


180g Vinyl LP! Pressed at Optimal!
Mastered At Abbey Road Studios From Original Analogue Source!

Pianist Alfred Brendel performs compositional works by Franz Liszt.

Decca celebrates Alfred Brendel's artistic achievements with the release of four iconic Brendel albums from the analogue era. Presented with original artwork and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal GmbH, each release is carefully mastered from original analogue sources at Abbey Road studios. Every effort has been made to faithfully reproduce the original intentions of the musicians and recording engineers.

Alfred Brendel’s place among the greatest musicians of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries is assured. Renowned for his masterly interpretations of the works of Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, Brahms, Schumann and Liszt, he is one of the indisputable authorities in musical life today.

An exclusive artist for the Philips label since 1969, Brendel’s discography is now among the most extensive of any pianist, reflecting a repertoire of solo, chamber and orchestral works by the major composers from the central European tradition from Bach through to Schoenberg.

Brendel's Liszt offers an alternative to flash and glitz: theses are highly serious accounts, downplaying the works' virtuosity." - BBC Music Magazine


  • • 180g Vinyl
  • • Pressed at Optimal GmbH
  • • Mastered from original analogue sources
  • • Mastered at Abbey Road Studios

Alfred Brendel, piano

Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
Side A:

1. Variationen Uber "Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen"
2. Harmonies Poetiques et Religieuses - No. 4 Pensees des Morts
Side B:
1. Fantasia and Fugue on BACH
2. Harmonies Poetiques et Religieuses - No. 3 Benediction de Dieu Dans la Solitude

Additional Information

Record Label Decca
Music Genre Classicals